Animal products sometimes hide behind the following E numbers:
- E120 - Never vegan
- E322 - Usually vegan
- E422 - Usually vegan
- E471 - Usually vegan
- E542 - Never vegan
- E631 - Usually not vegan
- E901 - Never vegan
- E904 - Never vegan
- E920 - Check for further information
E120 - Carmine, Cochineal, Crimson Lake, Natural Red
A pigment produced “by boiling dried insects in water to extract the carminic acid and then treating the clear solution” (Wikipedia).
E322 - Lecithin
Sometimes derived from eggs, usually derived from soy. Double check for a “Suitable for vegans” label, or contact the manufacturer.
E422 - Glycerol, Glycerine, Glycerin
Most glycerol is derived from plant sources according to The Vegan Society but it’s safest to check the label for an indication that it is “Suitable for vegans” or contact the manufacturer.
E542 - Bone Phosphate, Anti-Caking Agent
Made from the bones of cattle and pigs, this is as you would expect, one to avoid.
E631 - Disodium Inosinate, “Natural Flavours”
E901 - Beeswax
Always an animal product, avoid!
E904 - Shellac
Secretion of the female Lac bug from India and Thailand. Always an animal product, avoid.
E471 - Mono- and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids, Partial Glycerides
Produced from vegetable oils or animal fats. Check for a vegan label, or contact the manufacturer.
E920 - L-Cysteine, Cysteine
Amino acid derived from materials such as poultry feathers or hog hair Wikipedia and sometimes synthetically produced in order to comply with Kosher or Halal. Check the label for suitable for vegans/vegetarians, Halal, Kosher, or check with the manufacturer.
- Vegan Society
- Vegetarian Resource Group
- Happy Happy Vegan - Is Glycerin Vegan
- Wikipedia - Disodium Inosinate
- Wikipedia - L-Cysteine